The Highlander, Shenley Fields, Birmingham

Pub #2371:

As we wind down our time in the Weoley Castle/California/Harborne conurbation, it was high time to try the Highlander again (it reopened a month or two after I first tried to get in for a pint back at the start of our tenure).  The review I got from the gent on the street at that time seemed wholly unfair as I found pleasant folk all around.

“Did you cycle far?” the middle-aged fellow I sat near asked as I dripped with sweat all over the table. Not wanting to correct him that it was a wee jog, I shook my head.

“Just the far side of Selly Oak.”
“The University?” I nodded at this and gulped some beer. “What are you studying, then?” I nearly choked.

“Dude, I’m nearly 60 years old. I WORK there.” We had a bit of a laugh and I told him I worked in a lab.

“What? Do you make bombs?”
“No, but if you have one I can probably tell you what it’s made of.”
“Well, can you make a bomb?” At this point, someone came over and convinced him to go out and have a smoke, so I never found out where that conversation was leading.

The sun has already set and dusk is closing in quickly by the end of the workday, now.  After work runs are a motherfucker, as a result.  The constant rain, uneven pavements, and slick leaves just add to the fun.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.