The Golden Lion, Bilston, West Midlands

Pub #2381:

The sunset was nice but now, miles from home, I was lost below Wolverhampton in the dark.  But, lo, what light from yon window breaks?  A pub!

I wasn’t sure the pub was open or even in business.  There was a lone car parked there and the curtains seemed half drawn in the one lighted room.  Yet, the house was occupied by the couple running the joint and I was able to buy a beer and sit in solitude while the footie review show screamed at me.

Later, on the run back in the cold guided by GPS I wondered why the place was so desolate.  The beer was good and reasonably priced and there was plenty of room in the second bar if, say, a few people from the neighbourhood wanted to pop in and spread out a bit.

Good luck, y’all.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.