The William Archer, Wednesbury, West Midlands

Pub #2391:

‘Tis the season of unexpected pleasures.

I ran to Wednesbury Christmas morning because it holds the closest Wetherspoon I have not yet logged to this list only to find it closed for the blessed day.  Fair enough and I headed back home where an egg nog would salve my bruised soul.

However, as I stopped at the corner to decide whether or not to add a few miles I spied a woman wandering into the William Archer.  In the window I saw a guy sipping on a pint.  Salvation!

Just inside, a table of about 10 folks greeted me with, “Merry Christmas,” and one bloke announced, “I just saw him running this way, so he must really WANT a drink.”  I leaned their way conspiratorially and said, “it’s true.”  As I turned to order my breakfast stout I spied the trays of whiskey and several attendees, including the bartender, implored me to help myself.  A Christmas miracle!

Sport was on most of the many teles but the one hooked to the tannoy was playing Christmas videos.  I may not be back until next year, but I shall return.

The run home was a happy one.  I knew that Jackie would be awake and probably in better shape than yesterday and that an egg nog was only a small effort away.  Ho ho ho and holly jolly to you all where ever you find yourselves this fine morning.

 

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.

One thought on “The William Archer, Wednesbury, West Midlands”

Comments are closed.