The Farcroft, Handsworth, Birmingham

Pub #2449:

A short, black gent about my age and wearing a tour t-shirt of an obscure psychedelic band from the early 70’s paced slowly and somewhat aimlessly a few pool cue lengths from the snooker table at the Farcroft.  Mental patient, I thought, as I got a beer then tried not to bump into him on my way to a table.  The pair shooting when I came in eventually potted the last ball and he sped over to rack things for his go.

I looked up a couple minutes later and the billiards table was half empty.  Our hero sank the ball he was shooting at, shifted slightly as the cue ball rolled to a halt near him and, almost without looking, he banked off three cushions to lightly tap his remaining red ball into a pocket from behind the yellow ones blockading it from a direct shot.  Hustler, I reckon, because after easily potting the black ball and starting the next rack I caught his eye just before he sloppily missed two easy shots — the only time this happened in front of me.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.