Rail Runs #32 and #33: To Selly Oak and From Tame Bridge Parkway Stations

The run to Selly Oak was like a commute and, to spice it up, I tried to find some paths previously undiscovered. The wind was howling but was generally either with me or not against me.

Some joy in that, too, as I recovered some streets I have only otherwise travelled in the opposite direction discovering treats like the old Grove Cinema (a grand old structure inappropriately repurposed thereby reminding me of myself) down below the new hospital and making my first visit to The Reservoir.

After that, I still needed five miles to make quota so I caught the train toward Walsall with the plan to bail out at Perry Barr but the station is closed for pre-Commonwealth Games tarting up (University Station, btw, is building an entire new station while the old one is still used but I think fewer poor people live near the Uni).

I settled on Tame Bridge Parkway and a visit to some canal sections I haven’t been to in a while and a visit to a pub, the Cottage Spring, I’ve never done before. Success, despite facing these cold, powerful winds channelling up the waterway.

The Bridge you see is actually a canal viaduct.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.

One thought on “Rail Runs #32 and #33: To Selly Oak and From Tame Bridge Parkway Stations”

Comments are closed.