Living Room Cabinets

Our little house has a dearth of storage and a lot of wasted space. A few weekends ago, I set out to fix both of these.

Next to the chimney breast in the living room, I framed out two built in cabinets and started populating them with shelves. In here, the stain we used on the floor is, on the cabinet lumber, splitting the difference between the fireplace mantle and the floors.

I bought a fairly cheap router and then spent as much as the motor on some pretty decent bits. This allowed for a bullnose on the top and some quarter-round edges on the doors.

Everything is plywood except the interior walls which are mdf. The framing is 18mm x 45mm softwood. Price tag including the new tools just under £100.

They came out better than I expected.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.

2 thoughts on “Living Room Cabinets”

    1. Yes, and these are nearly perfect except the one with the TV…I misjudged the sanding and, if we keep them varnished but not painted I’ll need to replace that one. Easy enough but I’m down to scrap and structural lumber at the moment.

      Like

Comments are closed.