Latest skin cancer treatment

Notes made 3 days before treatment started: “Diagnosed with one superficial and one nodular BCC, both small and with no signs of nodule on the deep one (which may have been removed by the punch biopsy a few months ago). Non-surgical attack using Imiquimod (but, other immune trigger treatments are available) to start Monday. I’ve used it before and don’t fancy the flu-like side effects but they are still a few weeks away.”

I applied the stuff 5 nights per week for 6 weeks then washed it off each morning, as per. The lesions are small and if I hadn’t had so many others previously I would have assumed they were frostbite burns from the cryogenic liquids I use haphazardly at work.

As the drug starts working, cytokines (largely interferon) are released by white cells proximal to the point of application. Unfortunately, this immune response also carries on all over the body causing increased misery for about two weeks after the final dose (which is applied tonight). Recovery accelerates thereafter and I should be back to normal by about mid-August. Hooray.

The third spot started garnering cytokine attention, as well, so hopefully I’ve got a jump on the next ones (or that one, at least).

Last night just after dose

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.