Campus Benchmarks and a Dead Intersectional Triangulation Point in Wolverhampton

I wasn’t hungry so I spent my lunch break chasing benchmarks on campus, finding a number of cuts and my first Flush Bracket (FB, the metal plates constructed so the theodolite can mount there). The function of the FB is to give an accurate height for levelling and these are scattered about the country with most of the cut marks in the vicinity referenced to the nearest FB. Good stuff.

In Wolverhampton after work, I walked past a cut mark and checked the database for info only to find there to be a Triangulation Point around the next corner. Unfortunately, the church spire was torn down with the rest of the church sometime in the last few decades.

Here are the maps of these two trips. They are linked to the master map which also has photos under the markers.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.