The Rainbow, Digbeth

Pub #2612:

My life is filled with disappointments of my own making. I just missed the Rainbow before it closed for refurbishment and then with COVID lockdowns it was just this gorgeous house of stained glass I was never going to see. It reopened quite sometime back and we finally made it over for a post-furniture-shop / pre-bookshop beverage.

And, inside the old pub everything IS gorgeous (save for the customers who needed more clothing or, if there was adequate coverage, a glance in a mirror before they leave home). But, like most things in Digbeth the gaff is designed with the hipster man-child in mind. I’m sure you can borrow a Nerf or ping pong ball rifle from the staff back in this dreadful garden bar.

And, the music piped in is HORRENDOUS. It fits the clientele, I mean.

We’re guessing from the doorway topper that this used to be called The Ram. Ram it, I think.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.