Castle Vale Trig Outing

I took a half day off from work the Friday after my final skin cancer treatment hoping in vain the side effects would start to abate by then. Fortunately, I picked one of the flattest areas in the region to do my minimalist run, Castle Vale.

On my way out to the bus, I stopped by the Med School and logged the Cut Mark on the gate. It would be the last for a while.

Castle Vale was not flattened by Hitler despite it having an important test flight aerodrome for the Spitfires. Instead, it was flattened by urban planning with the oldest buildings all started in 1963 (the year after most of the Cut Marks involved in the Re-Levelling being made before 1962 … like me!).

As I left the town of relatively new-build, I encountered missing and covered over marks and a non-existent (and without an interesting back story) Triangulation Point. The Cut Mark in the photo, above, is on The Raven pub out in Hodge Hill (which was largely built only slightly earlier than the Castle Vale abomination).

I’d given up by the time I reached 4 miles and 1 pint. At the bus stop I had a ten minute wait to deal with and checked my benchmark map only to find a Cut Mark was listed on the side of a works building directly behind me. The building is reduced to a single wall, now, but a hit is a hit.

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.