Brum & Worcs Canal: 5-Ways to the Uni

Actually, this was only one way to the Uni but from Five Ways. I caught the bus from the Med School after a lunchtime meeting and hopped off in Five Ways and joined the canal looking, looking, looking for benchmarks and bolts.

I got to the Somerset Road Bridge and, with most of the walls that ostensibly held bolts now heavily worn or replaced by metal-slat fencing, I can confirm that there is the dictionary definition of fuck all to find there. Up top, as well, there are signs of wall damage to consider.

At the bridge, there should have been two Cut Marks, one each to the northwest sides of the rail and the canal sections of the bridge. But, all I could find was the one boxed with highlighting (canal one) and the graffito bemoaning our ‘korupt’ system.

Determined to succeed if at all possible, I continued back to the labs along Edgbaston Park Road and spotted the faint CM in stone not far from where I turned on to the road (above and detail below).

There was another, similarly hard to spot mark across from the entrance to the campus hotel (listed as Hornton Grange on my old documents)…see if you can spot it:

If you said, “here” then treat yourself to a nice beverage:

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.