Lichfield Day Trip

Lichfield is just lovely. While the Cathedral is by far the most ornate, gothic architecture abounds in the medieval city. Note the middle of the three spires is also trigpoint TP12463.

Heading through town to grab a bite to eat at the Feathers, I walked past the old St John’s Hospital, above, which appears to still be in use.

The Swan Hotel appears to converted to a cut rate Italian restaurant. The Cut Mark is to the lower right in the above photo (photo of the mark is on the Map linked here). The sign for the old hotel is still there, though:

Just beyond that is the library (I try to find a library in every town I visit).

Erasmus Darwin, grandfather of the naturalist Charles Darwin, holds court on the edge of the park just outside the southwest corner of the library:

He also guards the Flus Bracket # S8687 just beyond his left hand on the library wall:

After lunch, I wandered down to the George and Dragon but spotted another Cut Mark kitty-cornered from the pub on corner of a house now sheltering a dental clinic (the Cut Mark is on the corner around from the Dental Offices door):

Passing the Cathedral, I jockied for photographic angles with a Japanese tourist and we both settled in at the statue of Carolus Rex (the original King Charles whose fate is too good for those who still cling to ‘royalty’).

Charles’ Cut Mark is on the door buttress just out of shot to the lower right (photo on The Map).

Heading toward some bric a brac places and just around the corner from the Cathedral on Dam Street I spotted one more Cut Mark before I cut the scavenger hunt short:

Author: Drunken Bunny

I run and go to pubs. That's about it, really. Pronoun: I couldn't care less how you refer to me ... I'm dealing with ADULT problems.